Sparks and Rays

I trusted the weather forecast. I know. Big mistake, right? Well it’s April for heaven sake! When it says it’s going to be sunny and warm (50’s is warm here in Wild, Wonderful, Wacky, Windy Wyoming) I want to believe it. I MUST believe it! Especially after this long, cold, snowy, winter. I’m more than ready for a big fat dose of WARM.

I’m on a bit of a vacation since school is on break which means I don’t have to be up in the morning in wide anticipation of my beautiful granddaughters and the breakfast crunch to get my daughter ready for school.

It’s my time to catch up on missing sleep which is due to that evil time in a womans life we call “The Change”, so I slept in. I heard and felt the wind’s pressing insistence on my crappy windows throughout the night, but I was not prepared for SNOW on the ground…. AGAIN!

What is a mom and her girl to do on a shrieking, snappy day that was suppose to be nice? You climb into your “comfy clothes” (aka Boca granny velour jogging suit for me and basketball shorts and a tank top for the girl), and forget to put on your face and fix your hair. You waste some time on the computer facebooking and reading mindless junk and catch up on episodes of “No Ordinary Family” so your girl can finally talk to you about the ending. It was a day to count as good because you happened to have hoagie buns in the bread drawer so you could make “Good Friday” meatless subs and eat yogurt covered pretzels on the side for lunch.

It wasn’t really the day I hoped for but at the end, when the shuddering of the wind has subsided to a shiver, I can look back and say “Not bad! Not bad at all!” I wanted sun so we could venture outside or skip town for a road trip. Instead, I found sun within as my girl and I spent the day finding sparks and rays in the mundane.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Linking this up with The Lightning and the Lightning Bug’s “Dare to Share”

I took some liberties because here, rain is not on our minds for weather issue, rather it’s SNOW! So I changed from rain to snow for the  prompt.  🙂

It’s Dare to Share time! The theme this time is “Rainy Days” – link up your posts, old or new, about rainy days.

        

8 comments on “Sparks and Rays

  1. boca velour…har! Thanks for stopping by the layers. Glad i found your blog too. 🙂 I didn’t realize I needed to be in the change to lay around…now I need an excuse.

    http://www.alotoflayers.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Katie says:

    Love it! Sometimes sunny days happen even when it’s raining or snowing out. “I found sun within” (great line!) I need to remind myself of this as I sit in our living room cursing the rain that’s currently falling outside our window. I hate to admit it, but it’s January, and I’m already stir-crazy!

    Great post. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Your rain is our snow in WY. It’s hard to get upset about rain here because it’s in the summer and for over 10 years we have dealt with drought or dry conditions. We celebrate rain but we (at least I do) get dreary and down over cold, snow, slush and dirty cars and streets. So I chose my post about plans changed because of snow.

      Like

  3. Kelly says:

    I also liked the “sun within” line. Sometimes the days that don’t go according to plan are the best ones!

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      This was definitely one of those days. We enjoyed each other’s company and time together and made the best of a change of plans.

      Like

  4. Let Me Start By Saying says:

    Ahhh…making a day into a Glass Half Full one. A lesson we all need, and something your daughter won’t forget! 🙂
    Came from the LALB Linky.

    Like

  5. jesterqueen1 says:

    Glad you had a fun time! I’d have definitely been finding excuses to burrow in. Because we live in the South, my kids LOVE snow. I, who grew up in the midwest HATE the snow. I love living where the white stuff almost never flies.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      I’m definitely jealous of you for escaping! I’ve never lived where it doesn’t snow and honestly I’ve never liked the stuff. I. Do. Not. Like. Winter.

      Like

Leave a comment