Life Melted

The day ends deep into the dungeon of night and sleep is evading me like  a criminal running from the law. Time has been spent in the glare of a screen and there is the heaviness of fatigue and yet I’m wide awake. Lights and devices are shut off as I put the house to bed and I drag myself  down the stairs to the warmth of the place I love.

Tap opened to an icy flow like winter blustering outdoors. As it warms  a landslide of goosebumps roll from  my neck down to my ankles and a shudder of delighted anticipation breaks free. Slipping out of the restraints of clothing and under garments,  a private freedom is found. Impatient for the release, I plunge a foot in and inhale sharply from the nearly scalding heat which I ignore as I lower in to a new wave of goosebumps.

With eyes closed I lay back and exhale the breath that has been held as stress, unhappiness, anger and sleeplessness comes unknit . My muscles are liberated and emotions reduced to unimportant while the steam obscures the room and clarifies my mind.

Life melted, I’m happy and relaxed, and ready for sleep.

*****************************************************************************

I’m linking up with Write on Edge. Here is this weeks prompt:

This week, as we enter one of the busiest times of year, I say we take a lesson from these second graders and write about a (real) place that makes us feel peaceful.

Where is your quiet place? What does it look like? What happens there?

12 comments on “Life Melted

  1. Love this! I’d say more, but I think I’ll go take a bath instead.

    Like

  2. Tina says:

    Life melted. What an apt description! I enjoyed reading this.

    Like

  3. I actually exhaled, in relief, while reading this. And now I’m convinced I need to go run a bath. What a nice job on the prompt.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Awww! Thanks! I’m glad I could convey the relief I experience at the end of the day when I sink into a nice hot bath. Preferably with a book to read and escape. (Ran out of words with the word limit on the prompt :D)

      Like

  4. Beautifully written! I enjoyed experiencing the journey through your quiet place.

    Like

  5. Galit Breen says:

    Oh my, bliss! I love a hot shower/ bath and the quiet that comes with it!

    I adore the phrase “life melted!”

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      It’s just what it feels like right? All the junk from life just melting away. One of those “phrases” that just came to me 🙂

      Like

  6. lebarnes says:

    I’m not a bath kinda girl but this makes me want to jump in and settle down for a while! I love your description of the water turning from ice cold to warmth.

    Like

  7. debseeman says:

    Thank you for visiting 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

