CRASH!

I’m so tired! There is so much to do and I just don’t have time to get it all done! Thank GOD the light is green. My lucky day for a change. I want to get home and relax for a while before I have to take off on the next parenting/volunteer commitment.

Wow! They are driving way too fast and they aren’t slowing down, don’t they see their light is red Oh my gosh they don’t see the red light!

I’m screaming and trying to steer away from the giant suburban that is bearing down on my beloved blue Celebrity and seeing the traffic light pole looming in front of me when

 

 

 

It plows into the passenger side, locking me tightly in my seat belt. As I am standing on the brake my mind screams THANK GOD THANK GOD THANK GOD!  my daughter should be here and she isn’t! I am tensed, solid and tight as the fear knits my muscles into a human block of granite.

The car is stopped and the motor is shrieking from the damage imparted by the front end of a 3/4 ton SUV and I have no idea why or how to MAKE IT STOP! when my brain registers tells me to turn it off.

I jump out of the car and march straight toward the offending vehicle as the woman driver seemingly casual, steps out of the truck. The angry, furious, shocked me wants to kick her ass but something “behind me” pulls on my collar and drags me back. There is no one there, but I physically know I am being prevented from doing something that I’d regret later or worse.

I stand at the corner under the traffic light that was nearly imbedded in the front of my car and wait. The cop’s wife know’s it’s time to let someone with some authority take charge of the situation.

************************************************************************************

I’m linking up with Write On Edge for a RemembeRed memoir prompt.

Today we’re trying a little something different. Are you ready? Your word is below. Take the next ten minutes to write about the first single memory that word calls up. Focus on the emotions and the experience, spend ten minutes really exploring that memory.

4 comments on “CRASH!

  1. Those seconds, when you know that it’s going to happen and you brace because there’s nothing you can do about it .. they seem to last for such a long time. I remember watching the woman coming towards me and thinking “She’s not going to stop, she’s not going to STOP!!”.

    Thanks for coming by and reading my crash story. I enjoyed reading yours as well.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Not the best circumstances to share an experience over but stuff happens. I’m certainly lucky it wasn’t worse than it was.

      Like

  2. Cameron says:

    Wow. Scary, but also… that sense that something is keeping you from escalating… I’ve felt that, too.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Oh good! I’m glad it came through as supernatural, Guardian Angel-ish because that’s exactly how it felt. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

