W.W.W.Why?

The sweet rot of death hung heavy like cheap perfume. A barren clue in a place of repose; toothy, hollow eyed, pleading for answers; who, what, where, when but mostly, why. Why me?

Working with 33 words at Trifecta again. I really enjoy this challenge and challenging it is! My take on the photo in exactly 33 words.

For this weekend’s Trifextra Challenge, we are asking for a 33-word response to the picture. Make what you will of it; there are no rules. Poetry, prose, comedy, drama–just give us 33 words, on the button. Have fun with it.

Trifecta 33 Word Challenge

24 comments on “W.W.W.Why?

  1. This makes me think of the show where the victim speaks from beyond the grave, begging for a closure to their unsolved case. I like it!

    Like

  2. Hollow eyes pleading for answers?
    That is so perfect, I don’t even know what else to say. Awesome job.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Describing a skull in someway that isn’t overly gross or grisly can be hard. I wanted this to be a compassionate piece but to not gloss over the death aspect of it. Thanks so much for your comment.

      Like

  3. Nice. Your use of metaphor cracked me up.

    Like

  4. jesterqueen1 says:

    I like that poignant ending. It emphasizes the ‘begging for answers’

    Like

  5. Carrie says:

    The poor skull. You took this prompt from his (or her) point of view too 🙂

    Nice job

    Like

  6. Dana says:

    Ooh, the intrigue of unanswered questions… I love it!

    Like

  7. Lance says:

    I like how staggered the second and third lines. It creates suspense. Also, the last line is killer. I liked this.

    Like

  8. May says:

    Well done. A barren clue in a place of repose…..I think this phrase captures so well the unexpected nature of the situation.

    Like

  9. Gina says:

    This feels like CSI to me. Nicely done!

    Like

  10. Mel says:

    Your description was so complete in only 33 words! Great work!

    Like

  11. Thanks for linking up to this weekend’s Trifecta. I loved the pieces that took the perspective of the skull. It definitely adds a human element to have the skull asking “why me.” Very clever. Your descriptors are powerful, especially given how few words you have to work with. The second line got a bit muddled, and I’m wondering if a colon might help give it the space it needs? Anyway, nice job! See you back on Monday for the weekday challenge?

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Thanks, and you are right. I took you advice and added a semi-colon. The sentence works better now. Oh, and thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  12. All of these lines are great. Nicely done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

