Losing the Light

Mrs. Helen Fitch

Bloggers note: I’m bending the true meaning of this song quite a bit, because a few hours after Lance posted the new challenge, I found out my High School English Comp teacher, Mrs. Fitch died. Since I write, and what she taught me has become the roots she planted, and the first two lines of this song, especially, fit the emotions I’m feeling about the passing of my favorite teacher, who later became a friend.

~ ~ ~

Feels like this old house is falling down because one of the lights has flickered out, can’t be replaced. Warm tears goggling my vision feel like I’m drowning in a river of my tears and pain pricks at my soul.

An ability bestowed and molded, used to express and convey. Lessons far removed but carried deep within, now my essence. The house with a new dark place, blackness where the North Star shone. Your brilliance faded into the dimming of the day, and I know I’m better for your gifts. You encouraged and persuaded me to outshine my own vision.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Lance at “MyBlogCanBeatUpYourBlog” has the 100 Word song prompt and this week a fellow blogger gave him the song “Dimming of the Day” by Richard Thomas and performed by Bonnie Raitt. Here is what I was inspired to write in exactly 100 words.

11 comments on “Losing the Light

  1. Marian says:

    ooh, i am sorry for your loss.

    Like

  2. This is a beautiful tribute for someone who obviously made an impact on your life. Brava!

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Her care as an educator molded me into the writer I am today and the unabashed grammar nazi I have become. Just ask my nephew…LOL! I came to a place in our mutual lives when I got to call her Helen instead of Mrs. Fitch and I’ll never forget the day she scolded me and told me to call her Helen. I truly feel blessed to have called her teacher and friend.

      Like

  3. Carrie says:

    What a beautiful tribute to a woman who gave so much. There aren’t many teachers like that around

    Like

  4. jesterqueen says:

    I’m not sure that you twisted here any more than I did in the entry about Sam. Seriously – Oh Land had this peppy little ditty and I wound up writing about thinking my kid was drowning.

    I absolutely LOVE how you get “this old house is falling down” in there. It’s the first line of the song, and it completely sets the tone of sadness. Besides, I wanted three different versions of the song, and Lance talked me down to one. I think “Dimming of the Day” is about the light of life dimming, and how badly you need your loves when that loss strikes home. Or it could be an ironic reference to the dimming of Richard and Linda Thompson’s marriage. They were openly fighting on stage for much of their last tour and yet still singing this song together.

    In any case, I think the sorrowful tone is perfect. There are teachers in my past for whom I would ache in this way. Or I suppose for whom I someday will ache. My third grade teacher saved my life when I was in 9th grade, and I can’t even begin to place a value on that.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Thanks Jess. You’re comments are so appreciated since you inspired/chose the song for the prompt. I had no intention of going where I went with this when I first read Lance’s post and listened to the song. Then, as I said, I got the news and everything changed. I talked myself in and out of what I ultimately wrote because I feared some would judge that I had “copied” the idea of a very personal incident from you. I knew my teacher had to be memorialized so I went ahead and I’m glad I did if for no other reason than I honored her.

      Like

  5. SAM says:

    What a beautiful tribute this is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

