Crossroads and Porch Swings

**** Previous Installment of Vivid Black – The Emptiness

https://debbiesdays.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/the-emptiness/

Suitcase stowed, ticket in hand, Ray slammed the Tahoe door resolutely, refused to look back. Henry watched the back of Ray’s head disappear in traffic. Ray’s running away wasn’t the solution. Henry knew misery, unwelcomed, always followed.

Walking into the office, McEwin’s docked iPod music  wormed into Henry’s head.

“What is that?”

“Punk. Rise Against.”

He snickered at “I won’t cross these streets until you hold my hand”

Needling, “Hey Jerrod, I wanna cross the street.  Hold my hand?”

Laughter and taunts rustled like paper crumpled.

“Shut it Henry!”

He thought wryly, “Ray’ll be back. He’s a porch kinda guy.”

Rise Against by Swing Life

Writing for 100 Word Song at Lances blog “My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog”. Dawn  @HappinessCubed http://www.happinesscubed.net/ chose “Swing Life” by Rise Against to inspire us.

9 comments on “Crossroads and Porch Swings

  1. k~ says:

    I like the way you wove the song into the conversation 🙂 Nicely done.

    Like

  2. dberonilla says:

    I like that the song not only inspired you, but you gave it a starring role in these words.
    Very nice!

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      I really liked this song alot when I Iistened to it for this prompt so I chose to make the song itself the centerpiece rather than a lyric or a feeling inspiring it. Fit this story quit well. Thanks do much for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  3. Tara R. says:

    I think your’s is the only one that used a lyric. Nicely done.

    Like

  4. I love the piece, but I don’t think I like Henry very much. He sounds like a selfish kind of guy.

    Like

  5. Eric Storch says:

    That’s what I call “guy banter.” It doesn’t work unless someone’s getting picked on. Nice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

