Whatever

****Previous installment of Vivid Black Finding Answers

Max running off. Ray blowing up. Henry was losing focus. He pinched his nose between his eyes to clear his mind.

McKinley was still in his duty car. He wondered if that would go sideways too. The car, diagonal in a handicap spot had McKinley waiting. Tears flowed freely and her mascara  ran. Henry opened the door and crouched down.

“McKinley, you wanna tell me what that was all about? Why were you with Max and why did he run? you tell me now, or we’re making a trip to the station. You chose.”

She turned to face him.   “Whatever”

*~*~*~*

Two for one today. This in spite of the free flow of my nose and the incessant barking which are both making me miserable. I guess you can be sick and create too. Someone send me a can of Lysol so I can disinfect my keyboard when this crud leaves me.

I’m writing for Lance and LeeRoy at “My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog” for the 100 Word Song which features the song “Criminal” as sung by Fiona Apple.

20120820-230907.jpg

And I’m also writing for Velvet Verbosity’s 100 Word Challenge. This week we have the word “Whatever” to  get the creative juices flowing.

5 comments on “Whatever

  1. Carrie says:

    Nice scene. The anger and frustration was obvious.

    Like

  2. Tara R. says:

    The detail about him pinching the bridge of this nose, helped set the scene for how frustrated Henry was.

    Like

  3. Lance says:

    I agree with Tar Rah. That detail made the entire scene, sing. Plus, her reaction? perfect.

    let me know if you;’d like to pick tomorrow’s song. email or message me on the book o face.

    Like

  4. Agree with other sentiments, that pinching of the nose was a nice touch that really “showed” the frustration and set the scene. Perfect example of showing, not telling. 😀

    Like

  5. […] ****Previous installment of Vivid Black – Whatever […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

