Going Backwards

****Previous installment of Vivid Black Never the Same

Henry hung over Doc Jones’ shoulder as she pried the wad from the victims stiffened fingers then passed it to the CSU tech. Jones had Tom Petty’s “You Wreck Me” playing. Henry’s fingers tapped out the beat on his lip while the wrinkled clump was coaxed into shape. He leaned in closer, and watched each swipe and pull until six inches of mustard colored paper emblazoned with red blood-like splotches showed a line of letters and nonsense characters.

“ZGC Dec31 1115pm WSU.”

He mutter “feels like I only go backwards” as anticipation dissolved. Henry whacked the table and growled,

“Max”

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Lance and LeeRoy tapped Rene from Not the Rockefellers to choose the 100 Word Song and she picked “Feels Like We Only Go Backwards” by Tame Impala. I confess to being completely unfamiliar with the band and this song is a bit too Beatle-esque for my taste so I pulled up the lyrics to get inspired. I’m taking you back to Vivid Black and the Zombie Reaper serial killer. Poor Henry is not getting any breaks.

6 comments on “Going Backwards

  1. Lance says:

    yes! great scene. I picture everything vividly. I like the Tom Petty. That was perfect. Great 100

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Love Tom Petty and I was looking for a song and artist with the fewest words. I had others with less, but my love of Mr. Petty forced me to work it in. Thanks for the compliment and the prompt. You always get me back in the swing of writing when I’m blocked or life is sucking the life out of me.

      Like

  2. t says:

    The 100 words were wonderful, but “a bit too Beatle-esque” really provided the icing to your 100 Word cake for me =)

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Ha! I’m not a Beatles fan even though they were still a thing when I was in HS, though their album releasing days were fading in their rear view. I listened to less than 30 seconds of the song and turned it off. Reverted to the lyrics alone for inspiration. Thanks for stopping t. I’m anxiously awaiting your next installment of the Kathy story.

      Like

  3. […] ****Previous installment of Vivid Black – Going Backwards […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

