Ashes

****Click here for previous installment of Vivid Black –> Incompetence

He was baffled by Dr. Jones suggestion. (What’d she say?) Henry dismissing his perplexity. It seemed like a good day to burn a bridge so he responded, “Uh, I don’t think so. Can you get that trace info on my desk?”

“Mmm, sure. Something else going on?”

It looked suspicious using church as a reason to turn down drinks with a beautiful woman. (Everyone knows I’m Catholic my answer shouldn’t surprise her.)

“It’s Ash Wednesday. I haven’t been to Mass.”

Jones suppressed a snicker.

“OK Henry. Next time I’ll invite Ray and Leta for your protection. I really don’t bite.”

johnny_automatic_daisy_border

IMG_0382Lance and LeeRoy picked Donnette at My Constant Thoughts to choose the new 100 Word Song. She chose “Beautiful Disaster” by 311, a band I’m not familiar. I decided to write with the lyrics again this week which you can find HERE.

 

 

To read the entire Vivid Black series so far, Click HERE

4 comments on “Ashes

  1. t says:

    Ash Wednesday – one excuse I’ve never used – nice one Henry!

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Since the season is on my mind (begging for lectors for Ash Wednesday) And I knew he wasn’t going it seemed like a good Catholic bachelor excuse.

      Like

  2. Lance says:

    With the pope resigning before I read this, this was the perfect chapter and 100 word song interpretation.’

    excellent

    Like

  3. […] ****Click here for previous installment of Vivid Black –> Ashes […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

