I Believe

With cool water, I bless, Father, Son, Holy Spirit, kneel and weep. The crimson light proclaims His Body, Blood, and Soul. Mourning your haunted, prodigal faith, mine soars in light 2000 years old.

*~*~*~*~*
Trifecta’s Trifextra: Week Fifty Seven asks us to write a piece of first person narrative in 33 words. This is my bit using my own voice.

One of my favorite songs ever. I use to play flute in a group at weekend Mass. Every time I hear this song, it makes me weep. I loved playing the flute part, so pure and so haunting. It speaks of my faith and my love for my faith. I truly believe.

Trifecta: Trifextra Week fifty seven

18 comments on “I Believe

  1. Valerie says:

    Beautifully done-and I love that last line. Stunning!

    Like

  2. barbara says:

    I grew up in the era of Latin masses. “Folk” masses came in about the time I went out of the catholic church. Nevertheless I believe – thank you for this beautiful song and for your beautiful words.

    Like

  3. Sam Edge says:

    Wow nice feeling to those words

    Like

  4. Katie says:

    Very powerful!

    Like

  5. Lance says:

    Gorgeous everything. I needed to read this. Thank you for showing me such a prayer and blessing.

    Like

  6. Tara R. says:

    Very moving, and a beautiful prayer.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Thanks so much. I guess it is a prayer. I didn’t write it thinking it was, but upon contemplation and re-reading a few times, it really is.

      Like

  7. Strains of religious fervor. The crimson light is very evocative.

    Like

  8. Cobbie's World says:

    The Joy of Believing is captured beautifully in your piece. You seem at peace. Congratulations and continued happiness.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Thanks. I am but, at times I am not. I think with all faith you have peaks and valleys. It’s a matter of learning to climb the hills knowing there’s a crest ahead and the comfort of the valley ahead.

      Like

  9. t says:

    Beautifully done.

    Like

  10. Lyn says:

    I have never heard that song…it is beautiful, and I’m sure will quickly become my next favorite. Thanks so much for sharing with me 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

