Where I Am

Conscience brings my writing to a fork in the road. Personal values push to the front. Do beliefs trump creative suggestion? Or does a virtuous writer write in spite of the moral dilemma?

********************

Trifecta has given us free reign to write what we want. “this weekend we are asking for a thirty-three word free-write.  Any topic, any style–just give us your best thirty three.”

Writers block, embracing values and asking myself  “Are you who you wanna be?”

Trifextra: Week 75

Trifextra: Week 75

18 comments on “Where I Am

  1. LaTonya says:

    What do we believe? Do my values mirror who I am or what I think I should be? Love the questions. Question are why I write. First visit. Enjoyed.

    Like

  2. Tara R. says:

    Excellent questions. Sometimes, I think, we do have to play Devil’s Advocate and push past our comfort zone, writing in a way that may make us comfortable.

    Like

  3. Lance says:

    This is my favorite 33 of the weekend.

    1) you’re writing!
    2) any writer with the ability to ask this question is worthy of reading
    3) you’re writing!

    welcome back, Deb….100 word song and my fandom of your work misses you

    Like

  4. barbara says:

    it’s hard sometimes to 1) ask the question, and 2) to write the answer. Welcome back.

    Like

  5. kallanannie says:

    Those are hard questions, ones I’ve struggled with myself on many occasions. I don’t know that we ever come up with satisfactory answers, but the questioning feeds our writing brains, for good or ill.

    Like

  6. Christine says:

    Great questions – I’ll be thinking on these for a while.

    Like

  7. Suzanne says:

    Nice to see you back Deb! Love this piece. Especially that opening line, which is brilliant.

    Like

  8. Perhaps your 33 words should be our next prompt. I am curious as to the many ways the wonderful Trifecta writers in this community would choose to deal with your questions. They are not easily answered, for sure.

    Like

  9. Draug419 says:

    I sometimes write to spite morals…

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Maybe that’s how I need to start looking at it or maybe in spite of the conflict while still maintaining my own personal standards and beliefs. I’ve been able to write who I am without sacrifice and I’m not sure why now I’m struggling with it. It’s just where I am right now.

      Like

  10. This sounds like a tough block to get around. I hope you find a comfortable middle and are able to get past it without compromising your beliefs or writing.

    Thanks for linking up. Please remember to return for the voting!

    Like

  11. KymmInBarcelona says:

    That’s quite a quandry! I believe we write to get where we’re going. Wherever that is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

