Time Slip

My time to blog and write have been seriously infringed upon by my home based business which is rosary sales and building. Every year I set up a table at a bazaar sponsored by our parish’s CCW which has become an annual local event than many attend. As I always manage to do, I wait until about six weeks before to realize my inventory is woefully short and I need to get more items built for the bazaar. This year is no exception. The added pressure came from an uptick in sales of my rosaries from the Parish store. The short version is I’ve been building a minimum of two rosaries a day for the last few weeks. Between the building and the difficulty I have making a design decision, my creativity has been focused very narrowly on the visual and not the written, emotional.

I daily get a twinge, pining away for my laptop and the familiar flow of ideas when I read a blog prompt. I’ve tried but my brain is so firmly involved in beads and wire, and metal it’s like trying to see through a brick wall. It’s not happening. Happily, there is a light at the end of the tunnel as the Bazaar is in just over two weeks.

Every year, after I sit back with my rosary building binge hangover I tell myself, “I’ll build one or two a week for inventory.” That commitment will keep the Parish store stocked and my on hand inventory at a place where if I need, I could build up stock adequately to have a deep selection for the Bazaar in November. It takes 45 minutes to and hour to build and I can carve out that amount of time and it won’t infringe on my writing. I’m already thinking those thoughts and will honestly work on that as a goal moving forward.

I hope those of you who follow my blog and have been reading my story “Faith from Ruin” will stick with me. The hiatus is temporary and I will continue the story, which I hope has the enough potential to become a published piece.

Here’s an example of what I’ve been doing. This is one of around 40 rosaries I’ve built in the last few weeks. There are 19 more on my table to be finished. “Can she do it?” you ask. She certainly hopes she can.

20131022-103159.jpg

It’s what I do

*~*~*~*

 

2 comments on “Time Slip

  1. Rexie says:

    What an artist you are! Such beautiful rosary.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Thanks Rexie! I try and I’ve already failed at my goal…LOL! I plan on getting back on the horse and doing one or two rosaries here and there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

