I Can Change

I can change,

but I won’t change who I am. I have behaviors, attitudes, actions, that hinder and alter the way I can, and should interact within my own life as well as with friends, family, acquaintances and even strangers.

I can change,

judging into loving.
fear into confidence.
anger into calmness.
melancholy into happiness.
cynicism into teaching.
weariness into fitness.

These can change me, so I can see an image of a proud and confident woman in the mirror, and project that same pride and confidence to all who are around me.

These are words. Words just lie on a page (or a computer screen), inanimate, inactive. Written and not lived and acted upon, they become a bittersweet symphony. I need to pick up these words and roll them around in my soul, wrap them around my heart and begin living them, because

I can change.

stylized-plant-separation

Week 99 at Trifecta has this prompt: We’re asking for your own resolutions in just three words.  Make it count.

29 comments on “I Can Change

  1. Momo says:

    Awesome. I love the way you wrote this, and the repetition. And the song you matched it with. All of it, really.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Thanks. Resolutions are tough when they have such a high rate of failure. I hope I’m able to do what I write.

      Like

    • debseeman says:

      Thank you so much! The resolution came to me while driving in the car when I heard the song on the radio. I had to shut off the next song so I could keep the idea running in my head until I got home. I’ve always loved the song and now it has meaning for me when I hear it.

      Like

  2. Excellent. I agree. We’re all a million different people from one day to the next. Nice post!

    Like

  3. Kir Piccini says:

    I am loving the look of the blog my friend. It’s you…it’s wonderful.
    Your friendship has changed my life this year and I know that if we change, for the better, for the purpose of opening up our lives to others..it’s never a bad thing.

    I CAN…well, it’s a motivation, an inspiration, a dare. YOU CAN Debbie, I know you can (whatever it is you want to do)

    xo
    HAPPY NEW YEAR

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Thanks so much Kir. Your friendship means a lot to me as well. The problem with CAN is it is a strong word and to say so is a commitment and that’s a scary thing when paired with the word CHANGE. One day at a time, right?

      Like

  4. Lance says:

    this is my favorite so far….can I steal this one for my life?

    Happy New Year

    Like

  5. S. J. Paige says:

    What an amazing resolution. So insightful.

    Thank you for posting and happy new year!

    Like

  6. Valerie says:

    I love the potential in this-and coupled with the promise held in each new day, I think anything is possible. I’m writing this one down and putting it where I can see it every day:)

    Like

  7. jannatwrites says:

    Yes, we can change…it’s just really, really hard. I hope you succeed 🙂

    Like

  8. Tara R. says:

    Very powerful words. You can do it!

    Like

  9. Darcy says:

    Excellent words, especially since the types of change you suggest are changes we all can make without losing our values or hurting others. Wonderful!

    Like

  10. deanabo says:

    Brilliant words to live by!

    Like

  11. This is the kind of resolution that gives weight to the intention – and being open-ended makes it perfect.
    Happy 2014, Debbie!

    Like

  12. Yes you can. We’re all behind you. Happy New Year and thanks for linking up. Don’t forget to come back and vote!

    Like

  13. Rather than “I can be,” try starting with “I AM.” It will affirm that what you seek already is and speed the process up considerably. It’s taken me many decades to learn that “I AM” is the gas pedal in life. Happy New Year.

    Like

  14. Good luck in the year to come. I hope 2014 is a year of growth, happiness and personal fulfillment for you.

    Like

  15. Sun says:

    three powerful words, yes! we can change…thanks for the inspiration to do so. 🙂

    Like

  16. “I need to pick up these words and roll them around in my soul, wrap them around my heart and begin living them”

    Gorgeous writing! I love the hopefulness and honesty of your resolution. Excellent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

