Bleed Until the End

I’ve learned to bleed, in thirty-three words.

I’ve opened veins to pour out love.

I’ve hemorrhaged happiness and staunched with sorrow.

I’ve transfused word pints to feed my muse.

I’ve learned to fly.

stylized-plant-separation

Trifecta is ending it’s run encouraging writers to write and stretch out of the need for over verbosity. This is my farewell submission to one of my favorite writing prompts. I am sad to lose this outlet of creativity.

This final week they are cutting us lose with these instructions:

“There’s no topic, no word, just a free write. Go anywhere your mind wants to travel.  Take us there too.  Just make it count, leave your blood all over this page.  Thirty-three words exactly.  Of course.  We couldn’t end it any other way. “

I took my cue from the fourth sentence.

Thanks to the editors for giving me the tools to hone and sharpen my skill. You will be greatly missed.

Trifextra: Week 105 The End

Trifextra: Week 105
The End

 

 

 

17 comments on “Bleed Until the End

  1. El Guapo says:

    Wow! A very powerful 33, and a great salute to Trifecta.

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    This captures the essence of Trifecta very well. Nicely done!

    Like

  3. Lance says:

    great veins bleed alike

    loved it

    Like

  4. Christine says:

    Fabulous! GREAT interpretation of the prompt. I loved it.

    Like

  5. Tara R. says:

    A lovely epitaph for Trifecta.

    Like

  6. tnkerr says:

    Really great job – It has been an interesting week reading the final submissions. Yours is a standout.

    Like

  7. KymmInBarcelona says:

    They say bleed and you hemorrhage! And yes, the flying!
    Happy to have met you here, Deb. We will meet again soon, I’m sure.

    Like

  8. tedstrutz says:

    I’ve never thought of it that way… but that is exactly what we did in 33 words, every other week. Trifextra was my favorite.

    Like

  9. C.C. says:

    This is bloody good 🙂 I especially love, “I’ve hemorrhaged happiness and staunched with sorrow.” And, the idea of transfusing ‘word pints’ is so creative. I love the whole thing!

    Like

  10. Beautiful. Such a perfect tribute.

    Like

  11. atrm61 says:

    This is awesome-excellent writing and a really touching tribute!

    Like

  12. There is so much to love about this! I love the alliteration in “hemorrhaged happiness and staunched with sorrow”, and that final line — perfect! What a way to finish off Trifecta. 🙂

    Like

  13. Yes! That’s what we’re talking about! Make sure to check out our final post for some links to other challenges. We hope that Trifectans will find each other around the blogosphere. Good luck and happy writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

