Collected

Psychedelic wildflowers in neon, adorn a hippie-esque hippo given to a sixteen year old. A collection was born. The wild hippo became a Speech Meet mascot, kidnaped, ransomed and protected with squinty suspicious eyes.

The obsession passion, nurtured and propagated with Indiana Jones-like quests, procuring even more. The sleuth collected primitive tribal, garishly ornate, and saccharine cute hippos; ruggedly handsome, curiously unique, and itty-bitty hippos. Acquisition are celebrated, some with stories; all loved. 2014-05-20 21.45.36
Wide-mouthed wonders heavily populated horizontal surfaces, now are viewed through goggles of dust-free curio glass. The long gone girl smiles. Favorites have escaped and deliberately splashed about.

~*~          ~*~          ~*~

The inspiration is long gone. A plush beanbag hippo, became victim to my young need to display it prominently on the dash of my car. She succumbed to the cruelty of the sun which faded and disintegrated the fabric. Many have followed that small beginning.

Prompt from Velvet Verbosity’s 100 Word Challenge #379:
This weeks word comes from the last page of The Book Thief: “Collection”

This is a blog-hop, so click the 100 Word Challenge button above to enter your link and view other submissions.

8 comments on “Collected

  1. True story. I’ve never had the inspiration to collect anything (well, books, of course) and I feel I somehow missed a rite of passage.

    Like

  2. Lance says:

    I like the word choices and pace of this. It felt like 2 or 3 hundred words but in a fun, literary way. Great writing.

    Like

  3. Tara R. says:

    When I was in high school, I collected unicorns. Now, my son has taken up the collecting habit and has close to 8,000 (that’s not a typo) die cast cars.

    Like

  4. I like the description of how the obssesion/passion nurtured and propagated with Indiana Jones-like quests. Collections and the need to add to them can become all-consuming!

    Like

  5. barbara says:

    Mine is moose. I understand this.

    Like

    • debseeman says:

      Why does that not surprise me?…LOL I tried to come up with a catchy unique blog name using Hippo. Whatever I thought of was already taken so ideas weren’t so unique. Ultimately, I took another path.

      Like

  6. Nice passion, haha. Hippos are cute 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

